The most often asked question from TFA.

There is an unspoken understanding among my friends and coworkers that I enjoy the Star Wars universe.  Leading up to the release of The Force Awakens, a lot of questions were coming my way and I did my best to answer them WITHOUT spoiling what I thought were major plot points (i.e. Han Solo and his ultimate fate).

The biggest discussion point, at least in my circle, has been the heritage of Rey. I have my own conclusion on who she is that I will share at the end, but I will start by summarizing the main theories that I have heard up to now.

  1. The Kenobi Lineage – I listed this first not because I think it is the craziest, but because I heard it most recently.  Rey is the granddaughter of Obi-Wan Kenobi.  While Obi-Wan is easily in my top 3 favorite Jedi of all time, I’m just not sure that I buy into this theory 100%. While Episode 4 doesn’t dive into his personal life, there has never been any talk of Kenobi having a wife and / or children.  There are two twists on this one:
    1. Rey is the direct descendant of Kenobi.
    2. Kenobi had a daughter, who Luke Skywalker ultimately met and fell in love with, and then along came Rey. Again, I want Kenobi back in the movies somehow, but it’s a big galaxy and in would be hard pressed to believe they randomly meet.
  2. The Solo Lineage – This was one of the two big ones that I discussed a lot after the movie with friends. Ultimately, it fell short. For me, I can’t believe that Han and Leia talk so freaking much about their son each time they see each other but don’t even hint at any other children. MAYBE if they thought she dead they wouldn’t mention her as much…but their son is arguably the most powerful dark side user since Darth Vader.  I just can’t bring myself to believe that neither Leia or Han would have at least said something to each other about discovering their daughter again, even if they didn’t want to tell her directly.
  3. The Snoke / Child of the Force I will admit, this one amuses me quite a bit, but I don’t think there is any way that it is accurate. One main reason I enjoy it so much is because it typically brings in the idea that Snoke is really Darth Plagueis, who was rumored to have mastered death before being ‘killed’ by his apprentice, Darth Sidious. Darth Sidious even told Anakin Skywalker in Episode III that Plagueis ‘could use the Force to influence the midi-chlorians to create life.’ Again, this theory holds a little water as it was revealed that Anakin Skywalker had no father, so it could be plausible that Plagueis used the Force to create him and could do it again to create Rey.
  4. The Who-Knows Lineage – Fairly simple idea – it’s a big galaxy and there were hundreds, if not thousands, of Jedi before the fall of the Republic. Which leads us to believe that not all force sensitive individuals are related (that would be strange, right?).  Simply put, Rey just happens to have unusually strong Force abilities and Luke’s lightsaber called out to her as she was the only strong Force sensitive person to be near it a long while.
  5. The Skywalker Lineage – I really don’t think I need to explain this one too much. Rey is Luke Skywalker’s daughter. This just makes sense to me and it isn’t so far out there that the common fan doesn’t follow (see the Snoke / Child of Force theory). In my opinion, there are a lot of points in the movie that support this theory, such as the apparent relationship between Kyle Ren and Rey – we can get into that in a later post. Also, while I don’t think she is Han’s daughter, Han definitely knows WHO she is, and even appears to tell Maz the answer in her castle.

Bottom line, George Lucas has always said that Star Wars was a saga about the Skywalker Lineage. Yes, I know Lucas sold the rights to Disney (yay!) for an unworldly sum of money, which means there is no guarantee that Disney will keep with the same path as Lucas had in his head.  But I’ve got faith in Kathleen Kennedy and Disney to keep Star Wars about the Skywalkers.

Also, my daughter told me Rey was Luke’s daughters. Kids don’t lie, right? 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

